"Hinxton Mill has a very special and timeless quality. All the old photographs and stories about the mill show that this was always a hard-working building and though times must have been tough in the past, we think it has never looked so wonderful as it does in the 21st century. On milling days the whole place seems to buzz with energy and purpose." Volunteer - Hinxton Watermill
This small clapboard corn mill straddles the River Cam, in a beautiful rural setting on the edge of the pretty village of Hinxton.
The mill was constructed in the 17th century but there has been a mill on the site for much longer; it is probably one mentioned in the Domesday Survey as being "worth 8 shillings". The mill ceased to operate in 1955 and was neglected from that date. The cottage, although occupied by the son of the last miller, was then almost derelict with no mains water supply and a roof leaking in a dozen places. The local authority was about to place a closing order on the cottage and the mill building was also in a sorry state.
In partnership with local villagers, the Society stepped in to rescue these wonderful buildings from demolition and restored them in the mid 1980s, earning the Society a Europa Nostra Diploma of Merit in 1988.
The aim of the restoration was not only to make the building structurally sound but also to bring the mill machinery into working order, maintaining the building's historic character. The thatched Millers Cottage is now privately owned.
Hinxton Mill is located in Mill Lane, Hinxton CB10 1RD (off the High Street). The village of Hinxton is south of Cambridge just off the A 1301 from Cambridge to Saffron Walden.
The exterior of the mill can be enjoyed at any time of the year from the riverside footpath. The mill is especially worth visiting on one of the summer open days.
The machinery is in working order and flour is milled for demonstration purposes on open days.
Open Days: These are held on National Mills weekend (second Sunday in May) and then on the first Sunday of the month until September. Look for our new open day programme for the year.
Group Visits: We welcome visits by organised groups, when booked in advance. To book a visit please e-mail or call the CambridgePPF Office (Tel: 01223 243830).
Access: Park on Mill Lane and use the footpath (unpaved surface) to the mill
The ground floor of the mill is accessible for wheelchairs. Access to the first floor is by a steep wooden ladder.
Enjoying the local countryside:
There is an interesting walk around the village
Free all the year round to visit the site (external mill area), however on open days we charge a modest sum for visitors to explore the inside of the mill - all helping the upkeep of this wonderful building.
Open Days - Members Free, small charge for Non-Members - see details here.
Looking after an historic watermill requires regular maintenance and restoration work. Hinxton Mill is much loved by locals and regular visitors as well as mill enthusiasts. We want to be able to continue to open the Mill for all to enjoy. In the past we have had support from individual members of the public as well as charitable foundations such as the Chailey Foundation for which we are most grateful.
Please support our work maintaining and improving Hinxton Mill for the enjoyment of all by clicking here to find out more about donating to or joining Cambridge Past, Present and Future.
Would you like to help look after the Mill or act as a guide on Open Days? We are always glad to hear from people who can spare even an hour or two to help. Please go to our Volunteering page for more information about volunteering or other opportunities to help Cambridge Past, Present & Future.
Cambridge Past, Present & Future