Our governing body is the Board of Trustees who have full decision-making authority on behalf of the membership. The Board has established a number of specialist committees and working groups to help carry out the work of the charity, each has its own terms of reference.

At all meetings of the Board and committees, if any of those present have a possible conflict of interest it is declared and, if necessary, that person is excluded from discussion on the relevant matter.

The Finance Committee advises the Board on matters relating to the financial management of the charity and its investment and property assets.

Current members: Mrs R Aveling, Mr P Chapman (Chairman), Mr C Spokes, Ms J Womack.

The Planning Committee provides advice to the Board on planning issues and large-scale development plans impacting on the greater Cambridge area. It concentrates on safeguarding heritage, landscape, green spaces and other public amenities.

Current members: Mr Andrew Ashenden, Dr Anthony Cooper, Mr Bill Wicksteed, Mr Chris Blencowe, Dame Janet Cohen, Mr David Adamson, Mr David Blake, Mr David Stewart, Mr David Taylor, Mr Donald Douglas, Ms Marie-Louise Holland, Dr Robin Pellew, Mrs Rosalind Aveling, Mr Terry Gilbert, Mr Richard Townley, Mr David Stewart and Mr David Taylor

The Heritage Watch Group provides advice regarding protecting the heritage and historic buildings in the greater Cambridge area. It also leads on specific heritage projects and campaigns, such as Cambridge Market Square and Conservation Area Reviews.

Current members: Prof Peter Landshoff, Penny Heath, Dr John Gray, Michael Goodhart, Tony Gardiner, John Preston, Mike Petty, Ms Marie-Louise Holland and Allan Brigham.

Cambridge & District Blue Plaques Committee carries out the work of selecting, erecting, celebrating and maintaining the blue plaques.

Current members: Jonathan Barker, Tom Bygott, Anthony Carpen, Penny Heath (Chair), Geoff Harvey (South Cambs Council), Jonathan Hurst (Council Officer), Debbie Macklin and Honor Ridout.